Priests of Cabinteely 1829-

We know that there has been a Church in Cabinteely from at least 1790 with current Church opening in 1836. Below is the list of the priests who served in the parish from 1829. It is not the full list. Some were Parish Priests and others curates. At various times Cabinteely has been a standalone Parish, also part of Loughlinstown, Kingstown (Dun Laoghaire), Ballybrack (which included Little Bray) , Dalkey and up to 1974 was the Parish of Cabinteely-Foxrock.

Bartholomew Sheridan 1829-1862
John Harold 1850-1868
Joseph Flanagan 1859-1865
Joseph O’Connell 1865-1866
Terence Dolan 1866-1886
Joseph Carroll (Dalkey) 1865-1866
Denis Petit 1881-1885
Peter Monahan 1885-1887
Robert Carrick 1885-1887
Henri J Lube 1886-1889
John O’Donnell 1889-1892
Edward Quinn (Ballybrack-Cabinteely) 1894-1906
Richard J Connell (Ballybrack-Cabinteely) 1892-1923
John Grimley  (Ballybrack-Cabinteely) 1894-1903
Michael O Hea (Ballybrack-Cabinteely) 1906-1917
John Fennelly (Ballybrack-Cabinteely) 1915-
Joseph Gorman (Ballybrack-Cabinteely) 1906-1911
Eugene McSweeney 1914-1915
John Ryan 1917-1938
Morgan Crowe (Cabinteely-Foxrock) 1930-1935
DJ McGrath 1922-1925
Charles Finnegan (Cabinteely-Foxrock) 1925-1947
Andrew Griffith (Cabinteely-Foxrock) 1935-1941
Joseph Killeen (Cabinteely-Foxrock) 1938-1949
John Fitzpatrick (Cabinteely-Foxrock) 1949-1952
Carbury Healy 1949-1954
Frank Quinn 1947-1955
William O’Rourke 1955-1963
Bernard McMahon 1952-1965
Gerry Haugh 1955-1963
Jeremiah Hurley 1957-1964
Anthony Camac (Cabinteely-Foxrock) 1971-1973
John Ignatius O’Connell (Cabinteely-Foxrock) 1964-1972
Malachy J Mahon (Cabinteely-Foxrock) 1963-1973
Dermot O’Neill (Cabinteely-Foxrock) 1963-1974
George O’Sullivan 1963-1988
Desmond Forristal 1967-1969
Paul Spellman 1968-1970
James Tormay 1970-1973
Patrick Gleeson 1970-1973
John (Paddy) Battelle 1973-1974
Diarmuid Martin

(later Archbishop of Dublin)

Francis Meehan 1974
Larry O’Sullivan 1978-1984
Oliver Crotty 1984-1992
Tom O’Keeffe 1988-2008
Paul Callan 1992-1998
Chris Miley 1995-2005
Conor Ward 1998-2015
Colm Kenny 2001-2004
Damian Farnon 2005-2006
Michael O’Grady 2004-2005
Jeremy Seligman (Deacon) 2016-2021
Arthur O’Neill 2006-
Aquinas T Duffy 2016-2023
Donal Roche 2023


I acknowledge the assistance of Máire Ní Chearbhaill from Cabinteely Parish and two books by Fr J Anthony Gaughan The Archbishops, Bishops and Priests who served in the Archdiocese of Dublin 1900-2011 Dublin: Kingdom Books, 2012 and The Archbishops, Bishops and Priests who served in the Archdiocese of Dublin 1900-2011 Nineteenth Century. Dublin: Kingdom Books, 2013.

Fr Aquinas