Parish Council

St. Brigid's Parish



St Brigid’s Parish Pastoral Council consists of members of the Parish Team together with members of our local community. The current council members (November 2021) are:

Presiding:      Fr Aquinas T Duffy

Chairperson:  Ger Daly

Members: Isibéal Ni Cheallaigh, Catherine Murray, Fiona Boland, Jennifer Clarke, Jaslin  Joy, Tomas Murphy, Pat Delaney.


What is the Parish Pastoral Council?
The Parish Pastoral Council is not a “Board of Management” or Complaints body. It is a partnership of clergy and laity consulting and working together to enable the parish community to fulfill its vision, trying to read the signs of the times in the light of the Gospel. It is
a faith-filled leadership group through which priests and people work together as co-responsible partners in furthering the mission of Christ in their own parish.’ 

 For many years now lay people and clergy have been working together in the parish helping to sustain what is a vibrant and caring community.  The Parish Pastoral Council places this ‘leadership through partnership’ on a more secure and enduring footing.


The Role of the Parish Pastoral Council
The PPC is guided at all times by the Parish Vision Statement and making this Vision a reality for our faith community. It identifies priorities and needs to be addressed in order to achieve its goals and devise a strategy to ensure their delivery.

The PPC strives to ensure ongoing good communication between all members of the faith community, the Council and Parish groups. It aims to expand and enrich the sense of ownership and participation across the whole faith community and extend welcome and outreach to new parishioners as the community expands.


Term of Office
The membership period is 3 years.  

The Parish Pastoral Council meets every 4 weeks.  While meetings are very focused on planning and reviewing the task in hand – prayer and reflection are a central part. All matters discussed are confidential unless unanimously agreed otherwise.